Dear non-pregnant person:

The appropriate response to a couple telling you they are having a baby is “Congratulations!” with enthusiasm. Any other response makes you an &*@!!! …

THE FUCKING HELL!!!!????

If you are an infertile/babyloss mama this most likely means you. I personally try exceedingly hard to show enthusiasm in the face of others’ pregnancy announcements. Have I failed at this miserably?? Yes… so apparently, this makes ME an ass.

So sorry dear insensitive, self-absorbed pregnant bitch if my baby dying has made me less than stellar at sharing in your fucking happiness.

Needless to say, I commented on the offensiveness of that particular statement… I was told to “get over myself” and that it was meant to be funny and lighthearted…

Lighthearted eh?? So being called an ASS is now considered LIGHTHEARTED AND FUNNY?? The same dickhole post stated that it’s NEVER okay to comment on a preggo’s weight- either huge or small and that this is most heinously offensive- but it’s lighthearted and FUNNY to call someone an ASS because they might be hurting very very deeply. WTF is wrong with people???

Maybe it’s hormones- but I can’t think of a time when I’ve been more horribly offended in my life. It’s NEVER lighthearted OR funny to call someone an ass for not sharing in your joy. I can think of a million reasons why someone just may NOT be overjoyed to hear a pregnancy announcement. Or ANY happy announcement for that matter. A close friend of mine turned visibly green when I announced my engagement after only being with hubby for 10 months… she was on her third year with her beau and no ring in sight- did I call her an ASS??? no- I kept my head firmly on my shoulders and OUT OF MY ASS and recognized that she might actually be just a little envious and hurt. And that it wasn’t personal…  It was an exciting moment for ME- and enthusiastic moment in MY life- not other peoples’… To DEMAND that other people be as happy for you as you are just goes to show how fucked up our society really is. When did it become acceptable to be so self-involved and insensitive that calling other people ASSES just because you’re pregnant and they’re not and saying it’s just “lighthearted and funny”?

