For Day 4 of the 30-Day Blog Journal I have to tell y’all my favorite book. This, surprisingly is the easiest out of all the topics so far. I am a literary whore. I love pretty much all books and will read almost anything. Heh- I took 2 literary English classes my last year of high school (before I dropped out), and Intro to Canadian lit in uni and LOVED every second of it!! My fave genre is fantasy and sci-fi, but I love a good thriller, and I hold a very special place in my heart for classic literature. I’ve also been known to obsess over true crime and take guilty pleasure in the occasional bodice-ripper too. However, there is ONE book I go to again, and again, and again. It makes me glad I now have an e-reader because I will save myself a lot of time, energy and coin replacing my copy (I’ve gone through four or five copies of this book, as that is how many times I’ve read it). And that book is THIS one:

Stephen King truly is a literary genius in my books (heehee- I know, I know- I’m awful!!) and for me, this book is his opus. Just the opening line sends shivers down my spine. “You’ve been here before.” I can still remember the chills I got and the sense of deja-vu as soon as I began. It was captivating, and I read nearly the whole book in one sitting (no small feat for a kid my age, I was around the age of 10 or 11 the first time I read it!). Every time I read it, there are nuances and small details I have forgotten, or did not pick up on before. It’s thrilling! I love the characters, I love the setting, the description of Castle Rock makes me long to run away to find a secluded cabin in Maine and become a hermit there. I just love this book. Which is why, I have NEVER watched the movie. I’m terrified that watching the movie will somehow ruin the book for me (I’ve heard the movie was really, really terrible, and for anyone who’s read the book, I can well imagine how awful the movie could be). And so, I avoid it like the plague!! lol And that’s that- my favorite book… one of many many books that clutter my house… lmao… If only my camera was functioning properly I could take pictures of the piles and piles and shelves and shelves full of books in my house!!

