so… needless to say, I have been busy with life… very very busy… as busy as moving half-way across the country might make a girl like me. Especially when my dumb ass goes and adopts a 6 week old puppy 6 weeks before moving across the country…

As far as that goes, the actual move went more or less without a hitch. The “old” province went through a blistering heatwave during the move, which was sucktacular and we ended up staying in a hotel room for an extra night due to lack of air conditioning (we sold them just prior to our “pack” day, as we don’t need them in the new house), leading me to wish I’d asked more money for the sweet sweet bliss that is cold air in the middle of summer in the most blisteringly humid hot province in the country…

All hail Alberta! for your sweet sweet moderate temperatures!! I’m sure I’ll be complaining this time next year, as I’ll have forgotten how friggin awful a Manitoba summer can be (it’s like childbirth- the pain is so overwhelming your brain can’t process it, and so you forget). My house is still a disaster, and I completely missed blogging about the Gremlin’s first birthday, but we’re settling in quite nicely out in the boonies of northern-ish Alberta…

I’m pretty sure I’m going to like it here, the people are a shit-tonne friendlier so far than anything I experienced in “friendly” manitoba- everywhere I go, people smile, wave, and use manners! Now I just have to find a job and daycare for the baby who loses her mind anytime I leave the house without her, and everything will be perfect… or almost perfect… The house has some quirks to be dealt with… like the electricity… the inspector told us that some things needed to be changed for everything to be tickityboo in the house- but what he failed to mention is that over half our plug-ins don’t work… and we have switches EVERYWHERE that do nothing… it’s screwbally! Aside from that and the plumbing (heh- I escaped one flood zone only to have my only working bathroom and my kitchen flood simultaneously), the house just needs cosmetic work.

and that’s the updates for now… new dog, new house, new province… and that’s really all there is for now!

