Apparently I have issues with real-estate agents…
We’ve had three realtors in our house this past week to get it assessed for sale- the most recent I had met with previously at an open house of another house similar to ours (I was scoping the competition). She seemed really positive and even asked to come see our house whether or not we decided to list this year or wait until next spring. So I was kind of excited to have her come check us out, so to speak. Well, what a friggin let down!!!
She told us that she’d get the market analysis to us by the end of the next day (she came late morning, so she really had almost 2 days)… she never got back to us. Until three days later when she called and told us she wanted us to list at about 20K less than the next lowest realtor’s assessment. Now, the key is, we bought this house a year ago. It was a huge mess!! We had to do electrical, flooring, completely gut two rooms and some cosmetic work. We haven’t finished everything- we walked into a much bigger job than we thought we were getting into! We thought the work this house needed was just cosmetic, and unfortunately our inspector totally let us down when we were counting on him to REALLY inspect the place since we were living across the country and couldn’t actually SEE the place ourselves. But all the BIG jobs are done. So here this woman comes in KNOWING what we paid a year ago, KNOWING the amount of work we’ve put in- and she wants us to LIST the house for a measly 10K more than what we paid!! um, excuse me?? at that rate I’m not even going to pay off my mortgage after closing costs and paying her fee- NEVERMIND the amount of money I’ll have lost putting the work into this stupid house!!! Even if someone paid FULL list price I would be taking a huge loss!!! And her reasoning is because we haven’t done any landscaping!!! Are you fucking kidding me??? I know curb appeal is important- but it’s not worth 20freakingthousand dollars!!!!! I told my husband- I’ll do some landscaping- *I’ll club that woman over the head and bury her in my backyard!!! argh!!!
*disclaimer: obviously I would never ACTUALLY club anyone over the head and bury them in my backyard…
